Complacency – The Danger and The Hope

This week’s In Other Words quote struck such a chord in me that it will take at least three posts to say all that I want to say. Because reading shorter posts is more to my liking, I thought it might be to yours as well.

For that reason, I started my Complacency series on Sunday. I have tried to make each post self-contained, but if you want to read the prelude to this post, Complacency Should Not Be a Permanent Address, please be my guest.

Oh Lord, take Your plow to my fallowed ground
Let Your blade dig down to the soil of my soul
For I’ve become dry and dusty, Lord I know there must be
Richer earth lying below

For I’ve been living in Laodicea
And the fire that once burned bright, I’ve let it grow dim
And the very Word I swore that I would die for all has been forgotten
As the world’s become my friend”

Lyrics by Steve Camp
“Living in Laodicea”

com-pla-cen-cy — a feeling of quiet pleasure or security, often while unaware of some potential danger, defect, or the like; self-satisfaction or smug satisfaction with an existing situation, condition, etc. (Webster’s @ dictionary.com)


The church at Laodicea was the epitome of complacency. They felt quite secure in their riches, they went about their days with quiet pleasure, not realizing the potential danger, completely unaware of God’s disdain for them. So much disdain, that – he – would – spit – them – out – of – his – mouth.

The church at Laodicea. We can all recognize that one. It’s the only one of the seven churches in Revelation 3 for which God had nothing good to say. While God had something negative to say about all of the churches, the other six at least received an attaboy.

The church at Ephesus, hard work and perseverence; the church at Smyrna, suffered persecution and poverty; the church at Pergamum, true to the faith; the church at Thyatira, love, faith, and service; the church at Sardis, effective; the church at Philadelphia, faithful.

But the church at Laodicea? Nothing good, not one word, only condemation — and hope. Yes, hope.

Only our Lord can speak condemnation and hope in the same breath.

You say “I am rich,” but you are poorI counsel you to buy from me gold refined in the fire, so you can become rich.

You do not realize you are nakedget your white clothes (clothes of purity) from me to wear to cover your shameful nakedness.

Do you not know you are blind to my ways? Come to me, use the salve that I can give, and you will see.

You do not know you are outside the door, standing in the cold and rain when you could be inside with me where it is warm and there is great joy. Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.

You think that by avoiding me you can avoid disciplineThose whom I love I rebuke and discipline.

So be earnest, and repent.

Is your heart full of dust and your cup of water filling up with sand? Come to me, and I will give joy in a barren heart.

If you have found yourself in these words as I have, know that God desires to fill your life with joy. He desires to take your dry and dusty land, your place of complacency where there is “potential danger” that you may not be aware of, and make your heart a fertile place full of joy and peace, hope and love.

In Sunday’s post I said that complacency comes without warning, but I’m not so sure that’s true. There are warning signs: less time communing with God, more time talking with friends, spouses, or kids; less time in God’s word, more time with the TV or books; less time worshipping with fellow believers, more Sunday mornings sleeping in. More time ……. .

You fill in the blank, but don’t let it stop there. You can move out of complacency, it is NOT a permanent address though we often live there far too long, not realizing the danger.

Stop back in a day or two prepared to move to a land flowing with milk and honey – and great joy.


Yours for the celebration of life,

Claudia


This week’s In Other words in hosted by Miriam Pauline at Miriam Pauline’s Monologue. Join in the discussion by writing your own post or just by reading what other women have to say.

2 thoughts on “Complacency – The Danger and The Hope

  1. Claudia both of these posts are wonderful! I’m so thankful that even when I choose to move to complacency it does not have to be a permanent address. Great analogy. Thank you for joining the conversation today.

  2. Reading your great post made me think of the song about “its a slow fade, people never crumble in a day.” It starts with those warning signs you talked about, the less time in God’s word, the excuses to not attend church and from there the crumble begins. Thanks for sharing today, I enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

