It’s Not About Me

Anyone who has been in Christian circles over the past 10 years or so knows “it’s not about me.”

Whether you agree with Rick Warren’s beliefs or not, he taught us as Christians that our lives are not about us, they are about God and his kingdom.

I’ve also learned that “it’s not about me” relates to my relationships with people as well. Not that I think that my relationships with others should focus on me or should be about me getting what I want, but I often think that if someone hasn’t contacted me in a while or doesn’t read my blog, they aren’t interested in being part of my life.

Two recent events, and many more that I could recount if I thought anyone wanted to read them, should have convinced me otherwise. Without going into detail, two different friends had not been in touch for a while. Instead of just reaching out to them as I should, I put off contacting them because I thought the physical distance between us had lessened our friendship and that they had gone on to bigger and better (read more fun) friends.

In the one relationship, I learned that she hadn’t answered my calls or returned my calls because she and her husband had gotten a divorce and she didn’t know how to tell me.

In the other friendship, after weeks of not being in touch, I found out that her mom had been diagnosed with cancer, and it was difficult to talk about.

In both of these friendships, my willingness to stay in touch without thinking that our friendships had come to an end would have gone a long way in encouraging them through these difficult situations.

Who can you reach out to today by remembering that “it’s not about me”?

Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing. (I Thessalonians 5:11)


Yours for the celebration of life,

Claudia

Leave a Reply

