A Blameless Heart? Where Do I Get One?

“A sentence from Psalm 101 has been both
challenging and convicting for me:
‘I will walk in my house with blameless heart‘

(Psalm 101-2, NIV).

When God speaks to me about being more loving,
this verse reminds me to make application in my family first—and then to others. It forces me to ask, ‘Am I more spiritual, more loving, or more fun somewhere else? Who gets my best—my family or others?”

by Jean Fleming
A Mother’s Heart:
A Look at Values, Vision, and Character for the Christian Mother


It is always interesting to me that the Word of God convicts each of us in different ways. The Spirit speaks to our hearts in ways that touch us to the core even if what touches us is slightly different from what touches someone else.

As I’ve read the other In Other Words writings today, most of the women touched on the aspect of treating our families better than, or at the very least as well as, we treat others. A few others felt that the adaptation of the original author was taken out of context and wrote that having a blameless heart applies to our entire life, not just treating our family in a certain way.

Certainly all of the women will agree that we fall short many, many times, no matter if we are applying this verse to our families or to our everyday life.

Fortunately, God does not leave us in our state of mouth wide open, yelling at the kids or at the guy who just cut us off on the highway. He doesn’t count against us the times we raised our voice to remind someone that the bathroom needed cleaned or that I wasn’t responsible for that error that crept up at work or at church.

No, God knows that we want to be blamelesss, that we want to please Him by treating our kids well and by being “the only Jesus that some will ever see,” especially as we walk in a dark world. He knows that our hearts are deceitful, but he picks us up, dusts us off, and sets us on our feet again.

King David was far from blameless, but he understood and accepted the righteousness that only God could give. In Psalm 40, he writes

I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry.

He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.

He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear and put their trust in the Lord.

Whether you have fallen short of God’s best with your kids or with the guy who bags your groceries, the answer is still the same: Blessed is the man who makes the Lord his trust (Psalm 40:4).


Yours for the celebration of life,

Claudia


This week’s In Other Words in hosted by Loni at Writing Canvas. Join in the discussion by writing your own post or just by reading what other women have to say.

6 thoughts on “A Blameless Heart? Where Do I Get One?

  1. “He knows that our hearts are deceitful, but he picks us up, dusts us off, and sets us on our feet again.”

    And thank God that He does! I sure don’t want to know where I’d be without that Grace and forgiveness from Him.

  2. What I love the most about Psalms is that they are mainly written, in the most honest of honests, by primarily David who… wow… was just as broken as the rest of us and God STILL delighted AND loved him ALL THE SAME!

    I’m glad on days when I fail to show a blameless heart I have a God and family who forgives. And yes, I too have enjoyed reading diverse and convicting interpretations bloggers offer!

  3. Hi Claudia – thanks for visiting my blog today and for your kind words. I appreciate your perspective on this quote and that you have reminded us that God is patient with us when we don’t keep everything in balance. Of course that is always our goal, but we so often fall short of expectations. I’m so grateful that God is patient and gentle with us when we fail. Thank you so much for your gracious and gentle words to me today. God has used you to touch my heart with joy!

  4. Ah yes, what a blessing, that the forgiveness of the Lord is only one confession away. “As far as the east is from the west, he removes our transgressions from us.” So far I haven’t read anyone else who has reminded me of that blessed fact. Thank you!

  5. This is one of my favorite verses – Psalms 40. All through His Grace. There are many days that I don’t know how I got through the day, how the temper so close to surface remained under, how I didn’t collapse with exhaustion. Then, of course, as if riding a breeze, I hear His words and know if it weren’t for him, I would have perish.
    Thank you for reminding me again.

Leave a Reply

