A Life Free from Fear

True freedom from fear consists of totally resigning one’s life into the hands of the Lord. ~ David Wilkerson


Is there any life more resigned into the hands of the Lord – and free from fear – than the one depicted in Psalm 23?


The Lord is my shepherd,

I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for his sheep. Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom. (John 10:11; Luke 12:32)


I shall not be in want.

He satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things. My God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus. (Psalm 107:9; Phil. 4:19)


He makes me lie down in green pastures,

The [reverence] of the Lord leads to life; Then one rests content, untouched by trouble. (Prov. 19:23)


he leads me beside quiet waters,

If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink. Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture says, streams of living water will flow from within him. For the Lamb at the center of the throne will be their shepherd; he will lead them to springs of living water. (John 7:37,38; Rev. 7:17)


he restores my soul.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. (Matt. 11:28)


He guides me in paths of righteousness

For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight. (1 Peter 3:12; Prov. 3:6)


for his name’s sake.

Holy, holy, holy is the LORD Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory. (Isaiah 6:3)


Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

Death is the destiny of every man, but death has been swallowed up in victory. O death where is thy sting? O grave where is thy victory? For the sting of death was sin, but sin has been removed. Thanks be unto God, who gives us the victory through Jesus Christ our Lord. (Eccl. 7:2; I Cor. 15:55-57).


I will fear no evil, for you are with me;

I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world. For everyone born of God overcomes the world. This is the victory that has overcome the world, even our faith. (John 16:33; 1 John 5:4)


your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance. The Lord is faithful, and he will strengthen and protect you from the evil one. (Psalm 32:7; 2 Thess. 3:3)


You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies.

On this mountain the Lord Almighty will prepare a feast of rich food for all peoples, a banquet of aged wine– the best of meats and the finest of wines. People will come from east and west and north and south, and will take their places at the feast in the kingdom of God. (Isaiah 25:6; Luke 13:29)


You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. (Rom. 15:13)


Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life,

For the Lord is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations. (Psalm 100:5)


and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. (John 14:2)


Yours for the celebration of life,

Claudia


Today’s “In Other Words” is hosted by Debbie at Heart Choices. Stop by to read more or to contribute.

5 thoughts on “A Life Free from Fear

  1. “I will fear no evil because thou art with me.” Love that phrase. All those verses were a great reminder to us that He is there, we don’t need to be afraid. Thanks for sharing today, it was great.

  2. Claudia, I love how you used Scripture itself to deal with the issue of fear. What better source? Jesus used Scripture to deal with satan during His 40 days of temptation. Why shouldn’t we follow His perfect example?

    Thank you for the reminder. We don’t have all the answers but we know the One who does.

    Thank you for participating in this week’s quote for IOWT.

    Blessings and love,
    Debbie

  3. Just…WOW! I truly loved and enjoyed how you used Scripture to be the answer to a life of fear asking the question, “how do I get free from it?” That is really a great post!

Leave a Reply

