How Will You Take Back Your Time Even Just for Today?


This week I’ve been posting about busyness in our lives. We haven’t gotten very far into the discussion, but this item in Dr. Les and Leslie Parrot’s article Busyness, The Archenemy of Every Life, in Christian Counseling Today, struck me.

It seems that the Governor of Michigan decreed by official proclamation that October 24 would be “Take Back Your Time Day.” In her proclamation, she declares

On behalf of the citizens of Michigan, Governor Jennifer M. Granholm hereby proclaims October 24 as ‘Take Back Your Time Day.’ Whereas too many are suffering from overwork, over-scheduling and time poverty … and whereas, many Americans are working extremely long hours, taking shorter vacations and suffering from stress and burnout … and whereas, time pressure has a negative impact on family life, … therefore be it, I, Jennifer M. Granholm, Governor of the State of Michigan, do hereby proclam this day as ‘Take Back Your Time Day.”

In other words, “carpe diem,” seize the day, enjoy the present!

In case you have trouble remembering to have fun, and when was the last time you heard someone say, “I just love my wife, she’s so serious that she makes me feel happy”?  Not!, take a piece of paper and write your own declaration for Take Back Your Time Day or Have Fun With Your Spouse Day and post it on the refrigerator or some place you will see it and be reminded of the need to seize the moment, to not wait until tomorrow to enjoy time with those you love.

What are you doing today that can give you back some time? What are you doing to seize the day?

Rachel Anne at Home Sanctuary encourages us to have fun today – especially with our mate. What did you have planned today that you can forego in favor of having fun with your mate?

As for me, the roast is already in the crock pot and my husband and I have made plans to work out together this afternoon. I know that for some women, working out with their husbands would not be very fun, but my husband and I are both trying to lose weight and have not been very successful in changing our eating habits or working out regularly. We’ve said “we’ll start tomorrow” too many times, and now today is the day.

Carpe diem, seize the day!


Yours for the celebration of life,

Claudia

Related posts: Slow Down, You Move Too Fast
                       Slow Down, You Move Too Fast – Part 2
                       All the Fun at homesanctuary.com
            

The Anniversary Shop, modern and traditional anniversary gifts.

9 thoughts on “How Will You Take Back Your Time Even Just for Today?

  1. I’d love to work out with my husband….maybe we could keep ourselves accountable. We used to have a Nordictrack in our bedroom and we used it every day…….to hang our clothes on. I finally got tired of it collecting dust and got rid of it.

    If I can’t get out and walk around my pretty property, there is no hope for me. Wish me luck.

    Yes, CARPE DIEM! Love it.

  2. Oh, my husband and I work out every Monday night. We walk around the track for 10 to 30 minutes, and sad to say it is one of the few times we really talk … or have a chance to talk between work/kids/house/life. If we don’t have this time we both notic.

  3. I have plans for us tonight. Mako Man works so hard. Now it looks like he might even start working out of town. Too far away to come back at night. He needs to know that he is loved. Thanks for the reminder!

  4. Wonderful Post. It is 6:59 p.m. (CST) here. I did my flirting by phone at 6:15 p.m.. DH’s ETA: 2:00 a.m. 🙂

    I love your governor! How unorthodox is that? Very neat!

    Kindest Thoughts,
    ~esthermay

  5. Awesome! I love working out with a special someone in my life. Although we seem to talk a lot more than we work out…which is fine.

    My parents also spend their evenings walking around their neighborhood. Even with the kids gone, staying in the house gets you no time with each other. Dishes, hanging pictures, sports, catching up on email, laundry, etc, etc. always distracts you. Getting out and doing something physical is always great. Good luck! Can’t wait to see how it goes.

  6. Some of the ideas that I have for me and the man in my life is to eat lunch in bed, watch one of HIS movies, and flirt over the phone. I will try to think of more. These are ideas that I got from other people. I also love your governor.

Leave a Reply

