Better Together


This was one of those weeks where I couldn’t figure out a way to make my Company Girl Coffee post of much interest to men. While men are more than welcome to read on, the main lesson you might learn from this post is that sometimes women just need to connect with other women. It’s nothing against our husbands or men in general: women just have a basic need to connect with each other.

Honestly, I’m not even sure I can claim this has much resemblance to any of the “small things” posted at Home Sanctuary this week. I don’t remember that I did much sporking; I didn’t clean the guest room, though it’s definitely on my list of things to do; I didn’t sweep the front porch; I didn’t force the neighbor’s kids to do any chores (no kids of my own at home); and I didn’t turn in my points or post my Company Girl Coffee post on time. The only small thing I came close to doing was to save electricity on items not in use – and that quite by accident when I tripped a breaker plugging in a new computer.

What a week!

But what I did do was to hang out with the girls this week – and what fun it was! I took 4 hours on Wednesday to enjoy being with a group of 5 women that I quilt with. Wednesday is a deadline day at work, and often I have to rush back early to meet a deadline, but I got all of my work done before I went and was able to relax and enjoy the time with other women.

On Friday, a friend brought bagels and joined me for coffee and tea as we chatted and talked through a Bible study we are working on together. After 3 hours, one of us looked at the clock and we were shocked by how much time had passed. We were enjoying our time so much that it flew by quickly.

Friday night, after the trick-or-treaters finished off our candy, my husband and I went out for pizza with a couple who moved into the neighborhood a couple of months ago.  It has been fun to get to know this couple and to find a connection, even though they are probably the age of our oldest son.

Monday, though, was a much-needed day with my husband. With all of his activities and mine, we don’t get many days to spend together. Our anniversary was Tuesday and he was working at home on Monday, so we took some time to eat lunch out together and later in the day to make pretzel rolls – one of his most favorite foods he’s had in our two trips to the Black Forest in Germany.



As one who is often guilty of putting task before relationship, I can tell you this was a much-needed week of time with my husband and with friends.  It was fun to see how our lives intertwine and to gain strength through talking and listening, encouraging, and being encouraged by someone else.

Has it been too long since you’ve taken time to connect with someone or with anyone that you didn’t give birth to?  If it has, call a friend or a sister today and set a time to meet over coffee, tea, or hot cider.  You’ll be glad you did!


Yours for the celebration of marriage,

Claudia


The Anniversary Shop, modern and traditional anniversary gifts.

4 thoughts on “Better Together

  1. Thoes pretzel rolls look delicious! I like it that the recipe uses simple everyday ingredients. I will have to make it sometime. The other night My husband and I played a new game that I had just bought, called Men Laws, Woman Rules. It was very fun, and brought the two of us closer together. It is a good conversation starter.

  2. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Those rolls look great! My hubby and I enjoy trying new recipes together. Are you going to post this one?

    I know exactly what you mean about needing to connect with other women. I had originally planned to have coffee with a girlfriend yesterday morning, but realized I hadn’t had a date w/ my husband since this friend and I had been out previously. It was a matter putting him first, and I didn’t want to rush out for coffee after three weeks of not really connecting with him. (I notice it more than he does, believe me.). I’m glad I made that decision. We had a delightful time.

  3. Zoanna,

    I had the best of both worlds this week – time with my husband and time with friends. I agree, if you have a choice, time with your husband should have priority.

    Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

