Corn Chowder and Burrito Filling Simplified


Once again, this is a post for men and women disguised as a Company Girl Coffee post.

Actually, all of the ideas for the Company Girl Coffee posts are from Rachel Anne at Home Sanctuary.  I just usually try to come up with something that guys can relate to as well.

Yesterdays’ theme at Home Sanctuary was to uncomplicate something. We can all use that reminder.

I thought it interesting that often our desire to do something in a big way also causes us to procrastinate because we lack the resources, the time, the talent, the self-confidence, etc. to pull it off in a way that would make Martha Stewart or Bob Villa proud.

So, without further ado, here are two recipes I’ve come up with lately that use canned or boxed products that save time and energy in the kitchen – and we think they taste pretty good, too.

These are great recipes for nights that Dad is home with the kids or when dinner needs to get on the table in a hurry.


Simplified Corn Chowder

  • 3 medium potatoes scrubbed, peeled (if desired), and cut in small chunks
  • 2 cans low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 box Campbell’s V8 Southwestern Corn soup

Boil the potato chunks in the chicken broth until tender.  When the potatoes are tender, add the V8 soup.  Heat through.

Doesn’t get much easier than that – and you can say you made it yourself.

 

Simplified Burrito Filling

Exclaimer:  I don’t eat burritos because I don’t like uncooked flour tortillas.  This looks like filling that could be used in burritos.  We eat it just in a bowl, without flour tortillas, but I don’t have a name for it, so I’m calling it burrito filling.

  • 3/4 pound lean ground beef seasoned with salt and pepper (see note on ground beef below directions)
  • small onion chopped (onion optional)
  • 1 can original RoTel tomatoes
  • 1 can cannellini beans
  • cooked rice (we use Uncle Ben’s Boil-in-Bag brown rice)

Brown ground beef with onion (if using).  Drain.  Add RoTel tomatoes and cannellini beans.  Heat through.  Stir in rice and stuff burrito wraps or serve in a bowl with crusty bread on the side.

Note: When I buy ground beef, I usually buy a package that has close to 1 1/4 pounds.  When I get home, I make up 2 hamburger patties for another meal and use the rest (about 3/4 pounds) in recipes that call for 1 pound of ground beef.  The little less beef is never noticed and saves a few pennies and calories.


If you’re so inclined, you can get a few of my other recipes here.


Yours for the celebration of marriage,

Claudia

The Anniversary Shop, modern and traditional anniversary gifts and gifts for all occasions.

8 thoughts on “Corn Chowder and Burrito Filling Simplified

  1. How I’ve missed this Company Girl thing before today is beyond me. How neat to link to other women’s blogs just to visit! I Love that second recipe — minus the RoTel (I’ll use some from my garden…) this is on Saturday night’s menu here! Kid’s love this kind-of stuff!
    Have a Great Weekend!
    -esthermay

  2. Thank you for the corn chowder recipe. We are having corn soup for dinner tonight, just haven’t found a recipe. Now I don’t have the canned soup part, but I do have corn. I’ll figure something out.

  3. The second receipe definietly does sound like something that we could stuff in a burrito! Thanks for the new recipe, it is so much fun to find other amazing people to relate to through Home Sanctuary. Thanks for sharing.
    Elaine

  4. I’m likin’ the corn chowder! Anytime I see three ingredients, you’ve got my attention.

    Now, about those tortillas. I never thought of them as raw, but you’ve given me something to think about. What if you rolled up the filling, burrito style, and then browned them (with a tad of butter)? It’s just that I’m so attached to tortillas, I hate for anyone to not eat them. I’m just looking out for you, Claudia.

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

