Life is Too Serious – Laugh Together!

Joanne Woodward, actress and wife of Paul Newman, is quoted as saying

Sexiness wears thin after a while and beauty fades, but to be married to a man who makes you laugh every day, ah, now that’s a real treat

How do you and your spouse fare in the “laughter” category? 

Laughter, you say!  We have too many serious issues to deal with to even think about laughing!

Pashaw, I say.  You have too many serious issues to consider to not think about laughing.

My husband says he loves to hear me laugh- probably because I can’t be mad at him when I’m laughing.  He says there’s a certain laugh I have when I read Dilbert – and another one when I laugh outloud (sometimes even when I’ alone) at reruns of Frazier.  I’m sure there’s still another laugh when I listen to (my husband’s) same old jokes – for the 42nd time – but that doesn’t count because I’m usually rolling my eyes at the same time.

When was the last time you and your spouse laughed together?  When did you laugh so hard that you could hardly walk or eat or drink something?  When was the last time you laughed at something that still makes you laugh days, weeks, or months later?

Today, right now, think of something to do together that will make you laugh.  Maybe it’s something you did when you were dating.  Maybe it’s a shared memory of when your kids were young.  Maybe you can try a new sport together – ping pong or badminton – and just enjoy the time you have together. 

Be sure not to laugh at each other, but with each other.

You’ll be glad you did!

Yours for the celebration of marriage,

Claudia

Incredible books to strengthen your marriage

The Anniversary Shop, modern and traditional anniversary gifts.

Leave a Reply

