No More Crabby, Complaining Wife

How did you do this weekend following the B-E-S-T Prescription? (See all parts of the prescription for a superb marriage in posts from last week.)

While all the parts are to be done in tandem, my bigget success over the weekend was in sharing – specifically in sharing time together with my husband without complaining.

Earlier in the week my husband told me that one of his co-workers had invited us to go along with his Sunday School class on a hike at a nearby state park. The hike was only supposed to be 2.5 miles long and we’d be done in a couple of hours.

Hiking is one of those things I do because my husband likes it, not because I do, so I agreed that if the weather was good on Saturday morning I would like to go hiking with him.

When we left our home at 9:15 the temperature was about 40 degrees with a forecast of about 50 degrees and partly sunny for the day. That sounded pretty good for hiking, so we set out for breakfast and then on to the park.

The closer we got to the park, the lower the temperature dropped. 42 from when we left after breakfast to 40 to 38 to 36 to 34.

It was 34 degrees when we got to the park, but we were dressed for the cold so we took off on our 2.5 mile hike.

Well, after about 3 miles, the fire tower we were supposed to be hiking to was nowhere in site. My legs were getting very tired and sore and it was getting extremely difficult to not complain about this hike we were on. I came very close to complaining, but I tried to think instead of how good it was going to feel when we finished the hike and my husband’s ego was still intact because I hadn’t lashed at him out about the cold and the pain – two things over which he had absolutely no control.

3.2 miles, 3.5 miles, 3.7 miles, still no fire tower, but we met some folks hiking back down who said we had about 1/4 mile to go to the head of the trail then another 1/2 mile to the tower.

By that time, everyone was in agreement that seeing the fire tower was not that important, especially since the temperature had dropped even further and there were a few snowflakes flying around. Besides, we were going to be pushing it to get back down in time to drive home, get cleaned up, and head out for a dinner party we were invited to.

We stopped for a quick lunch and got back on the trail as soon as we could to get warmed up and to complete what turned out to be about an 8 mile hike as quickly as we could.

The hike was longer and harder than we had planned, and my husband and I are still sore from the day, but you cannot believe how proud he was of me for making that 8 mile hike in near freezing temperature without complaining. I think he told nearly everyone he saw what I trooper I was and that he couldn’t believe how well I’d done on the trip.

I am sure there will be many more hikes in years to come, and this one will be a reminder to me that I can hike in adverse conditions and enjoy it – especially when it’s over.

The next time you want to complain to your husband about something he has absolutely no control over, remember this proverb:

It is better to live alone in the desert than with a crabby, complaining wife. (Proverbs 21:19, NLT)

Leave a comment to let me know how the B-E-S-T prescription is working for you.

Yours for the celebration of marriage,

Claudia

Incredible books to strengthen your marriage

The Anniversary Shop, modern and traditional anniversary gifts.

Leave a Reply

